MP Assembly polls: Counting of votes to begin at 8 AM; CEO says all arrangements in place | India News

BHOPAL: Fate of Madhya Pradesh main minister Shivraj Chouhan’s bid for his fourth expression in business will be recognized on Tuesday with counting of votes for the state’s 230 assembly seats scheduled to begin at 8 am, though the challenger Congress expects to return to power right after a 15-12 months hole.

Exit polls have predicted a near race involving the BJP and the Congress, however leaders from both of those functions have routinely claimed their respective victories.

While Chouhan has referred to as himself the “largest surveyor” in declaring a win for the BJP, senior Congress leader Kamal Nath reported his get together would get at least 140 seats to oust the saffron occasion and sort a bulk authorities.

The point out went to polls on November 28 with a voter turnout of about 75 for each cent. As quite a few as 2,899 candidates are in fray for 230 seats.

Madhya Pradesh main electoral officer V L Kantha Rao explained to reporters that counting would start off at 8 AM with the postal ballots at 51 centres throughout the state.

“EVMs (Digital Voting Machines) would be taken up for counting at 8.30 AM. Counting of postal ballots would keep on simultaneously,” he claimed.

Rao stated 15,000 workforce have been drafted for the counting procedure which will be monitored through 1200 CCTV cameras put in at 51 centres across the condition.

The CEO reported the utmost rounds of counting — 32 in overall — would consider area in the Indore-5 assembly segment owing to the maximum variety of booths there.

The least expensive range of counting rounds (15) would be held in Kotma seat in Anuppur district, he extra.

Indore-5 seat is presently held by the Bhartiya Janata Social gathering (BJP) although the Congress represents Kotma constituency.

Rao additional mentioned the outcomes of each individual spherical would be declared independently before the begin of the subsequent rounds.

Nevertheless all exit polls predicted a slide in the BJP’s fortunes, some of them have gone to the extent of offering a clear greater part to the Congress.

The Republic Television set-Jan Ki Baat poll has predicted BJP will acquire 108-128 seats and the Congress 95-115. The India Right now-Axis poll gave 102-120 seats to the ruling social gathering and 104-122 to the Congress.

Times Now-CNX predicted a the greater part for the BJP with 126 seats and gave 89 to the Congress.

In contrast, the ABP News poll gave the Congress a decisive get with 126 seats and claimed the BJP would earn 94 Assembly constituencies.

In 2013 elections, the BJP had gained 165 of complete 230 seats, adopted by the Congress (58), BSP (4) and Independents 3.

The campaign for the polls was a significant-decibel just one with star campaigners like Primary Minister Narendra Modi and Congress chief Rahul Gandhi mounting vitriolic attacks in their respective speeches.

The primary minister experienced dealt with ten public conferences throughout all areas of the point out while BJP president Amit Shah held 26 community meetings and 3 road displays, stated condition BJP spokesman Rajnish Agrawal.

Main minister Chouhan tackled 158 public meetings involving Oct 31 and November 25.

In advance of that from July till Oct, Chouhan travelled to 187 assembly constituencies as portion of his public outreach campaign titled “Jan Ashirwad Yatra”.

On the other hand, Rahul Gandhi dealt with 22 public rallies and took portion in about a dozen street reveals.

“State device Congress president Kamal Nath resolved in excess of 60 public conferences for the duration of this period of time”, the point out Congress spokesperson Bhupendra Gupta said.

Point out Congress campaign committee chairman Jyotiraditya Scindia addressed 110 public conferences and participated in 12 highway shows in 15 days preceding polling.

Scindia experienced before also held “Parivartan” rallies throughout 45 districts.

The chief minister, in business office due to the fact 2005, is himself searching for re-election from Budhni in Sehore district. He is pitted towards Congress prospect Arun Yadav, a former minister.

Of the 5.04-crore registered voters, 3.78-crores (75.05 for every cent) experienced exercised their franchise.

The BJP fielded candidates for all 230 seats while the Congress fielded 229 nominees and still left 1 seat (Jatara in Tikamgarh district) for its ally Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD) of Sharad Yadav.

Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Social gathering (BSP) fielded 227 candidates, even though the Samajwadi Occasion (SP) contested 51 seats.

The Aam Aadmi Celebration (AAP) also fielded 208 candidates in its maiden elections in Madhya Pradesh.

A complete of 1,094 candidates contested as independents.

For the duration of campaigning, the Congress, which has been out of energy considering the fact that 2003, tried using to create a narrative against the BJP by increasing problems like agrarian distress, the Vyapam scam and the anti-incumbency variable.

Rahul Gandhi experienced declared that Congress would waive crop financial loans of farmers inside of ten days of coming to power.

The BJP experienced dominated out anti-incumbency and generally banked on the “progress performs” carried out by the chief minister in the past 15 decades.

Supply website link

Add Comment